Tuesday, 26 October 2010

The CricInfo all-time World XI

That wonderful website CricInfo has just published its all time world XI.

It is -  Jack Hobbs, Len Hutton, Don Bradman, Sachin Tendulkar, Viv Richards, Gary Sobers, Adam Gilchrist, Malcolm Marshall, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Dennis Lillee

In a manner familiar to club selectors the world over, they have also published 2 other teams, the Second XI:

Sunil Gavaskar, Barry Richards, George Headley, Brian Lara, Wally Hammond, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Bill O'Reilly, Fred Trueman, Muttiah Muralitharan, SF Barnes

and the 3rd XI, aka the Readers' XI

Sunil Gavaskar, Virender Sehwag, Don Bradman, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Gary Sobers, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Muttiah Muralitharan, Glenn McGrath

(FB assumes the 3rd XI is playing on the Sunday since all but one of its personnel are involved in the other teams).  The link above sets out some of the processes used to determine the teams. The comments section is also very active.  Enjoy.

Fantasy Bob finds it hard to disagree too much with any of these choices.  It is good to see some greats from the pre TV and T20 eras in the First XI.  All these players are legends of the game and can justifiably take their places in FB's own hall of fame.  Nevertheless, FB expects all Carlton loyalists to take up the keyboard to lament the overlooking of Watts and English.

FB hopes that CricInfo will soon turn their attention from such trivia as this to more important matters such as the continuing need to establish greatest biscuits at world level of all time.  FB confidently expects to be invited to join the judging panel.

No comments:

Post a Comment